Home > Uncategorized > New Japan News: BOSJ Participants Announced

New Japan News: BOSJ Participants Announced


Let the excitement continue building. New Japan today announced all the participants and the blocks for this year’s BEST OF THE SUPER JUNIOR, scheduled to begin June 10. 18 of the top Jr. Heavyweights in puroresu are scheduled to compete this year, the full participation list (Note: All champions listed are as of April 19):
Block A:
Current IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion & IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Prince Devitt
3-time BOSJ winner Koji Kanemoto
2-time BOSJ winner Tiger Mask 4
Davey Richards
Fujita “Jr.” Hayato (Michinoku Pro)
Kenny Omega (DDT)
TJP (gaijin)

Block B:
Current CMLL Middleweight Champion, JAPW Light Heavyweight Champion & 2-time BOSJ winner Jushin Liger
Current IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion & CMLL Welterweight Champion Ryusuke Taguchi
Current Michinoku Pro Tohoku Jr. Heavyweight Champion The Great Sasuke (Michinoku Pro)
TAKA Michinoku (K-DOJO)
Kota Ibushi (DDT)
Daisuke Sasaki (DDT)
Current CMLL 6 Man Tag Team Champion Mascara Dorada

Believe it or not, this is the first time The Great Sasuke has ever been in BOSJ in his 20-year career. TAKA will be participating for the first time since 1994. Prince Devitt is the defending champion.
The rules are same as always for tournaments: 30 minute time limits for matches, 2 points for win, 1 point for time limit draw, 0 points for everything else. The tournament begins on 5/26 with prelim matches running through 6/8. After 6/8, the top 2 in each block advance to the semis. The semis & finals will be on 6/10 at Korakuen.