Home > Uncategorized > Off-Topic: Briefly Remembering The “Macho Man”

Off-Topic: Briefly Remembering The “Macho Man”

05/20/2011

As you probably know if you’re a regular visitor to this site, I focus almost excludively on Japanese wrestling here but do go off-topic if it’s warranted. Even if it’s for negative and/or depressing reasons such as today-I just learned that former wrestler Randy Poffo, better known to longtime wrestling fans like myself as “Macho Man” Randy Savage, was killed earlier today in an auto accident in Florida. He was 58. A passenger in the car, reported to be his wife of just over one year, suffered only minor injuries. I’m still looking for further details but there are reports that Savage suffered a heart attack right before the crash and both were wearing seatbelts. An autopsy is pending.
As a huge WWF and WCW fan when I started watching wrestling in the late 1980s, I was a big fan of the Macho Man for his larger-than-life personality, flamboyant outfits and promos and, especially in the 1990s, his many great commercials for Slim Jim meat snacks. I also enjoyed his partnership and rivalry with Hulk Hogan and his partnership/relationship with his one-time valet & wife, Miss Elizabeth (who died several years ago of an apparent drug overdose). He really was one of the greatest characters and wrestlers of the WWF Glory Days of the 1980s & 1990s and I could never get enough of his “Oooh Yeah!” catchphrase both in wrestling and in those Slim Jim commercials-in fact, I do credit Savage for getting me into Slim Jims as one of my favorite snack foods. I would rank him as probably my 4th favorite WWF wrestler growing up in the 80s & 90s and watching the sport, behind only The Ultimate Warrior, Hulk Hogan and Bret Hart.
R.I.P. “Macho Man” Randy Savage, 1952-2011, and God Bless…and thank you for many great years of entertainment and incredible wrestling matches growing up as a wrestling fan. I pray happiness in the other world from heart and send my deepest condolences to the Poffo family. And just for old time’s sake and to bring back a few great “Macho memories”, I’m off to Snap Into A Slim Jim, OOOH YEAH!