Home > Uncategorized > 7/24 DDT Results

7/24 DDT Results

The biggest annual DDT event of the year is in the books, results from Ryogoku via SportsNavi:
They claimed 8660 paid (overflow).
Sanshiro Takagi & Munenori Sawa beat Big China Nakahara Tag Team Champions The Great Sasuke & Ricky Fuji in 21:03 to win the titles. Takagi pinned Sasuke after a sunflower bomb. Kyohei Wada was special referee. This was a “dark match” held 30 minutes before the event’s scheduled start time.

Keisuke Ishii beat Shigehiro Irie in 9:25.

Gorgeous Matsuno won a 14 Person Iron Man Battle Royal, last eliminating DDT Iron Man Heavymetalweight Champion Antonio Honda, to win the title. Matsuno become, by my count, the 927th DDT Iron Man Heavymetalweight Champion. Other participation: Tsuyoshi Kikuchi, Yuzuki Aikawa, Cherry, Riki Quanzhou, Emi Sakura, Tanomusaku Toba, DJ Leek, Hoshitango, Daisuke Sasaki, Rion Mizuki, Makoto Oishi, Mr. 6, YOSHIHIKO.

MIKAMI beat Poison Sawada JULIE in 8:41.

Masa Takanashi & Daisuke Sekimoto (Big Japan) beat KO-D Tag Team Champions HARASHIMA & HERO!, GENTARO & Yasu Urano and Michael Nakazawa & Kenny Omega in a 4-way elimination match in 23:31, last eliminating HARASHIMA & HERO! when Takanashi pinned HERO!, to win the titles. Takanashi & Sekimoto become the 38th KO-D Tag Team Champions. (Takanashi wins titles for the 2nd time) Nakazawa pinned Urano at 13:15, Sekimoto pinned Nakzawa at 16:37, Takanashi pinned HERO! at 23:31.

In a 5 vs. 5 elimination match, Sanshiro Takagi, Hikaru Sato, Takao Soma, Kazuki Hirata & Akihito beat Yoshiaki Yago, Tomomisu Matsunaga, Super S**t Machine, Kengo Mashimo & Minoru Suzuki in 24:20. Order of elimination: Akihito by Yago at 4:43, Machine by Hirata at 7:10, Hirata by Matsunaga at 7:46, Yago by Sato via OTR at 12:40, Sato by Suzuki at 14:36, Suzuki & Takagi via OTR at 18:20, Mashimo by Soma via OTR at 20:13, Matsunaga by Soma at 24:20. Soma remains.

IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Kota Ibushi beat Prince Devitt (New Japan) in 13:53 to retain the title. V1 for Ibushi.

In a special match with special rules, Danshoku Dieno beat Bob Sapp by tapout at 2:58 of round 3. The match was scheduled for 30 3-minute rounds (seriously) and basically alternated between “gay attacks” being allowed and prohibited.

KUDO beat KO-D Openweight Champion Shuji Ishikawa in 27:24 to win the title. KUDO becomes the 37th KO-D Openweight Champion.

During the event, Suzuki vs. Sato was made for 8/28 at Korakuen, and Suzuki vs. Takagi was made for next year’s DDT 15th Anniversary Commemoration event. Date TBA but unlike the last few annual blowout events, next year’s event will be at Nippon Budokan.

Oh yeah, and the usual “@$$-blasting” thing was done today as well. The winner, although it took a last-minute surge in votes to make it happen, once again was Michael Nakazawa.

  1. 07/24/2011 at 5:52 pm

    My fault on that, was a bit rushed this morning trying to get it all up before going to work.

  2. Hugo Costa
    07/24/2011 at 1:02 pm

    The backlash of this event is big: Sawa & Takagi are champs again, a gorgeous new Iroman champ was crowned, HARASHIMA tasted some irony, Ibushi confirms his awesomeness, Sapp lost his credibi… (oh, wait, he never had any), and KUDO finally dropped the “most underrated star in DDT” moniker by winning the big one. And Michael’s bum went “boom” (by special guest Dick Togo, by the way).”Omedeto”, DDT, great job.

  3. R
    07/24/2011 at 11:36 am

    It’s Akito, not Akihito.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s