Home > Uncategorized > Official “Puroresu Open Discussion” Post

Official “Puroresu Open Discussion” Post

Another something new I’ve thought about recently that I’d like to try, especially since the commenting (and quality stuff at that) has picked up as of late-this post is for an “open discussion” of sorts. Feel free to offer comments or start discussions on anything puro-related (joshi-related discussions welcome too!), the only thing I ask is try to keep it related to fairly recent news (within the last 1-2 weeks). Usual commenting rules/guidelines apply, other than that the comment form is yours. Talk news, results, opinions, etc. Just be polite and have fun with it!

  1. 08/21/2011 at 8:26 am

    Just posted results from Ringstars. Bigger surprise perhaps: Miyako Matsumoto made an appearance too.

  2. Hugo Costa
    08/21/2011 at 8:09 am

    Breaking news! Tsukka Fujimoto has lost her ICEx60 title! I repeat, her reign is over! Minami is champ again! Shocker! More to come when the results are posted… And yes it is oficial, check the Ice Ribbon facebook.

  3. 08/19/2011 at 11:04 am

    Unrelated thought: FInished watching the NOAH 11th Anniversary event last night (posted video a few days ago), the tag match co-main was fun when Taniguchi was in the ring at the start with Sugiura but Sugiura kept ignoring him. He had the stone-faced look and kept acting like “Get out of here kid, I want the old man”, the old man being Kobashi. Poor Shuhei just got no respect during that match, they wanted no piece of him-it was all about Kobashi. That really stood out to me.

  4. 08/19/2011 at 11:00 am

    Definitely Riho-TAIJIRI for me, and the ICEx60 Title match as Fujimoto is closing in on Emi’s successful defense record (10, she’l be at 8 with a win). I do have some interest in Yoneyama-Obihiro because it’s Sayaka’s return match from injury. And to some extent the opener, which is Toyota vs. Tsukushi. There really aren’t any matches I’d avoid but the only one I’d say I have little interest in is the 6-woman elimination match. I’d maybe pass on Sakura-Makoto though, I’m a little tired of it.

  5. Hugo Costa
    08/19/2011 at 10:34 am

    As we are approaching the Kourauken show of Ice Ribbon, I would like to ask, which are the moments (or matches, if you prefer) that would be on the “watch this” list? For me, Riho vs Tajiri and the ICEx60 title match would be my favorites of the show, followed by the last Ice Ribbon match of Makoto.

  6. 08/18/2011 at 9:01 pm

    That would be cool, feel free to do it anyway just to offer a fan’s perspective of the event.

  7. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/18/2011 at 8:43 pm

    If you need a write up on rhe Nagata show I can do it. As I will actually be at the event..
    I have to work the next day but still can get a short write up done before I go to sleep. Up to you bro

  8. 08/16/2011 at 11:00 am

    If there’s an upside, it’s that the DVDs will be out almost immediately. CHIKARA’s DVD producer/distributor, Smart Mark Video, has indescribably fast turnaround times-sometimes DVDs are available the day after the event happens.

  9. 08/16/2011 at 10:36 am

    Yeah, I heard about her appearance and am quite disappointed that none of her bookings in America are anywhere near me.

  10. 08/16/2011 at 7:56 am

    At least it gives her a chance to make a good first impression…for those wondering, I checked CHIKARA’s website and the dates she’s being advertised for are 10/7 (Burlington, NC) and 10/8 (Kingsport, TN).

  11. Adam
    08/16/2011 at 1:05 am

    These dates were before JoshiMania…although I wouldn’t be shocked to see her there either

  12. 08/15/2011 at 8:15 pm

    Sounds like another possible addition to JoshiMania. Here’s hoping she brings some of her Xbox 360 ring outfits with her. And the glasses.

  13. Adam
    08/15/2011 at 7:16 pm

    Thought I would mention Kana is scheduled for CHIKARA later this year…saw it on their event schedule

  14. 08/14/2011 at 6:11 pm

    I actually did try such a thing in the past, but it never really took off. Might try it again in the future if there’s enough interest though.

  15. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/14/2011 at 5:59 pm

    I think the posts have spoken. Maybe you should consider starting a forum?

  16. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/14/2011 at 7:18 am

    NAKAMURA!!

  17. NS
    08/14/2011 at 6:32 am

    As far as my current favourite Puro wrestlers go…

    Heavyweights: Shinsuke Nakamura, Yuji Nagata, Hiroshi Tanahashi, Tetsuya Naito, Go Shiozaki.

    Jr. Heavyweights: KENTA (I’m an absolute die-hard fan of his), Prince Devitt, Ryusuke Taguchi, Kotaro Suzuki, Atsushi Aoki.

    Joshi: Kaori Yoneyama (I still can’t believe she’s retiring), Emi Sakura, Leon, Hikaru Shida, Chii Tomiya, Tsukushi, Tsukasa Fujimoto, and of course, the Lovely Butchers.

    I’m also a die-hard fan of Azumi Hyuga, who retired back in 2009. I miss her so much.

  18. 08/13/2011 at 11:05 am

    I’d have to go with Misawa. Truly one of the greatest of all times. As for women, aside from Kana(even if she does tend to be a little stiff) I too am a big fan of the girls from Ice Ribbon. I love the fact that little Riho could probably beat the crap out of half the women in the “big two.”

  19. 08/13/2011 at 9:51 am

    On the joshi side, I would say my “past” favorite is definitely the “hardcore sweetheart”, Megumi Kudo. Some old FMW tapes from my local mall were my first “real” exposure to puro and one of those was a women’s special featuring several of Kudo’s hardcore matches. She was like the female Hulk Hogan and won me over almost instantly. As for “present”, outside of Yuzuki Aikawa of course (and several of the Ice Ribbon girls) I would say Ayako Hamada, Aja Kong and Yoshiko Tamura.

  20. Hugo Costa
    08/13/2011 at 9:08 am

    My favorite wrestlers would have to be Tanahashi, Shiozaki, Kobashi, Marufuji and Liger. By the way, anyone has favorite Joshi wrestlers ? Mines would have to be Manami Toyota and Dynamite Kansai as in all-time favorites, but as in today’s stars, Riho and Tsukasa Fujimoto are the stars that I enjoy seeing the most.

  21. 08/13/2011 at 8:16 am

    My favorites would be Misawa (Always In Our Hearts), Kobashi and especially Jushin Liger, largely because he was my introduction to Japanese wrestling when I first started watching WCW in the 90s. Also am now a big fan of Makabe, the Japanese “Stone Cold”.

  22. 08/13/2011 at 5:56 am

    I’m a really big fan of this website, very informative.

    I often translate your articles for my website.

    Hope you keep going this wonderful site.

  23. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/12/2011 at 11:13 pm

    My friend, I have a stack of puro magazines I’ve been buying forever haha. I actually have one signed by chono and a njpw guide signed by tanahashi. Haha

    While everyone is chatting, who’s you’re favorite wrestlers of all time?

    Mine would have to be Hayabusa, KENTA, and Misawa. Right now I’m loving Kojima! Such a good heel but still the crowd genuinely love him.. Reminds me a bit of Onita.

  24. 08/12/2011 at 10:46 pm

    I think part of what helps, as seen in cases of guys like Bernard and now MVP as well, is that Japanese fans not only worship the gaijin but also the big man to some extent as well.
    I too wish I could plan a trip to Japan, obviously I’d try to make my plans around the annual Tokyo Dome event in January but I’d be in the same boat as you, just of course replace Kana with Yuzuki Aikawa, haha. And yeah, I’d get myself a universal DVD player and load up on event DVDs too, and also try to get some copies of Ringstars and Weekly Pro (the latter being a weekly puro magazine in Japan that’s been around for a good 30 years).

  25. 08/12/2011 at 10:29 pm

    Hey, being part of “bald intentions” is better then “hip hop hippo.” It never ceases to amaze me how much some time in puroresu can improve a wrestler.

    Also, thanks very much, Joe. I appreciate you looking for me. If I could manage to afford a trip to Japan myself, I’d….probably lose all my money on tickets to shows, DVDs, and bailing myself out of jail for stalking Kana. lol.

  26. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/12/2011 at 7:20 pm

    Haha Bald Intentions! That’s great!

    Yeah it’s my 3rd time to japan this year I’m pretty pumped. Only a 9hr flight from here in Sydney.

    Got CIMA to reserve 2 dragon gate tix for me and I got my tickets for all together and the Nagata tribute show. Gonna try to get some k-dojo in there too

  27. Hugo Costa
    08/12/2011 at 10:56 am

    Nakamura’s statement cracked me up, but what the hey, Bad Intentions can’t be good at anything, right? Besides, at least it is a common point with Karl’s partner, who is also happens to be bald. Maybe I can create a bad pun and say they are Bald Intentions (never mind that, I still say they are awesome). By the way, hope you enjoy your Japan trip, Joe, and make the most out of every day of it. And I aprecciate seeing you helping Mike with his DVD problem, too.

  28. Scorpion
    08/12/2011 at 10:51 am

    I just hope that SMASH doesn’t do what I think it’s building towards and have Starbuck be the first champion. The past shows have already shown that only TAJIRI is able to beat this guy. I think Hajime Ohara would have been a far better first champion.

  29. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/11/2011 at 8:00 pm

    I’m off to Japan on the 25th. I’ll be on the lookout for some SMASH DVDs for you. See if I can find where to get them from and I’ll report back…

    And I’m totally backing Kojima then Nakamura so yeah I hope Nakamura takes it out that would be great.

    “Tonight against Carl “the machine-gun” Anderson. This match is very special for me.he has many talents except hair.” – Nakamura haha

  30. 08/11/2011 at 2:58 pm

    Yeah, I saw that but to register for the fan club you have to tell them what Japanese city you’re living in…which unfortunately, I’m not. And there’s no option for overseas.

  31. 08/11/2011 at 2:10 pm

    My first response would be the perhaps obvious, and that’s check SMASH’s Japanese website (www.smashxsmash.jp), I did and clicked on a graphic ad and it seemed to mention that, if you joined their official fan club (Japanese) you would get a box set containing the first 8 SMASH events. It doesn’t appear to be for sale (yet), the entire package (including the fan club membership fee) was listed at this site for 12,200 yen. Here’s a link to the Japanese page I saw, hope it helps:
    http://l-tike.com/pc/d1/DM03G01F1.do?DBNID=5&ALCD=1&LCD=91767&OUCD=0600163
    If anyone else can provide LEGAL means of assistance then feel free to post replies to this comment.

  32. 08/11/2011 at 1:55 pm

    Hey, wanted to say I love the site. It’s great for getting info on the Japanese wrestling I love.

    I’m wondering if anyone would be able to help me out with something. I’ve been trying to find ways to purchase legal DVDs from some of my favorite puroresu companies, particularly SMASH. However, even the places I normally buy Japanese DVDs don’t seem to have anything on SMASH. I can find DVDs for NOAH and NJPW which is cool too but I’d love to check out some of the DVDs for SMASH and obviously I don’t want to get bootlegs or downloads since I want to support the company itself. Anyone know how I can do this?

    Anyway, again love the site and look forward to seeing what happens with the award voting.

  33. Hugo Costa
    08/11/2011 at 4:56 am

    Joe, I agree with you on the Suzuki bit, but I also think Nakamura is on a destructive path of his own, just like his 2009 perfomance. I don’t count him out of the G1 yet, considering that he might be a future number one contender to the GHC hvy. title, and performances like this may call Shiozaki’s attention. About La Sombra, maybe it’s because of the CMLL’s relation with NJPW that gives him chance to show some of his stuff (he is doing much better than Strong Man though, that his for sure).

  34. 08/10/2011 at 10:32 pm

    I’m 99.9% sure he will miss Nagata’s show, New Japan said he was leaving right after ALL TOGETHER and would be gone for one month. Can’t blame the girls for loving him considering he’s among the most handsome wrestlers, I’d put only pre-heel BxB Hulk and perhaps Rion Mizuki as even close to being on par with him.

  35. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/10/2011 at 10:17 pm

    Yeah I heard about Tanahashis excursion. I was hoping to see him again at Blue Justice show after ALL TOGETHER but I don’t think that will happen now.

    I met him in shirakawa city and he was really cool. The girls love him so much haha

    Yeah when I saw Gotos early performances I thought he might get the push but yeah you are right, Suzuki is looking like the Invincible Warrior right now!

  36. 08/10/2011 at 7:10 pm

    Thanks for the offer to help, I certainly will keep it in mind.
    As for the G1, I believe the main reason La Sombra is in there, as well as Strong Man, is NJPW’s partnership/working agreement with CMLL. It’s why these guys as well as Mascara Dorada, Hector Garza & others are in NJPW sometimes and also why some of the NJPW stars are going to Mexico for excursions (Tanahashi is next to go, I believe he leaves right after ALL TOGETHER; Nakamura & Naito have already been). There’s also been similar in the past with TNA I think, which probably opened the door for Lance Archer/Hoyt. As usual it seems to be a pretty good tourney so far, but it seems like Minoru Suzuki is emerging as the favorite now with Goto starting to struggle. Tomorrow the picture should get clearer heading into the final days this weekend.

  37. Diamond Joe Quimby
    08/10/2011 at 5:13 pm

    I’m a really big fan of the site. I actually have planned 2 japan trips based around the puroresu schedule on here. Keep up the great work, its hard to find up to date English news as my Japanese is not so strong yet.
    I’m moving to japan in a few months, let me know if I can do anything to help with promotion/content of PuroRepu haha..

    Also, how good has G1 been so far? I was hoping for Kojima Nakamura final but I think it’ll be Tanahashi Kojima final again.. I’m a bit confused why La Sombra is there tbh. It’s not that I don’t like him I just think he’s out of place in this tournament… Great wrestler though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

