Open The Twin Gate Championship History

the Open the Twin Gate Championship is the tag team title of Dragon Gate. Dragon Gate had used the WAR IJ Tag Team Championship since 2006, until 2007 when Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino introduced the new Twin Gate titles after winning the Summer Adventure Tag League tournament. They later defeated the IJ champions, Keni’chiro Arai & Taku Iwasa, to unify the titles and become the first unified Twin Gate champions. The titles are no longer unified as of September 2010 due to Genichiro Tenryu reviving the WAR IJ titles for his new promotion, Tenryu Project.

To this date there have been 17 Open The Twin Gate Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from Dragon Gate’s title history pages on their official website,
1-Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino. 1st reign. Length: 10/12/2007-2/8/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

2-Kenichiro Arai & Taku Iwasa. 1st reign. Length: 2/8/2008-5/5/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

3-Ryo Saito & Susumu Yokosuka. 1st reign. Length: 5/5/2008-9/26/2008. Successful defenses: 3.

4-Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino. 2nd reign. Length: 9/26/2008-10/5/2008. Successful defenses: None.

5-Cyber Kong & YAMATO. 1st reign. Length: 10/5/2008-3/1/2009. Successful defenses: 4.

6-Susumu Yokosuka & Gamma. 1st reign. Length: 3/1/2009-5/5/2009. Successful defenses: 1.

7-Ryo Saito & Genki Horiguchi. 1st reign. Length: 5/5/2009-9/17/2009. Successful defenses: 3.

8-Shingo Takagi & YAMATO. 1st reign. Length: 9/17/2009-12/27/2009. Successful defenses: 3. (Note: 3rd defense ended in a Double KO. Takagi & YAMATO retained titles as a result)

9-CIMA & Gamma. 1st reign. Length: 12/27/2009. Successful defenses: None. Returned title belts immediately after winning them on 12/27/2009 and proclaimed themselves “tentative/provisional champions”.

10-CIMA & Gamma. 2nd reign. Length: 2/10/2010-3/22/2010. Successful defenses: None.

11-Shingo Takagi & Cyber Kong. 1st reign. Length: 3/22/2010-5/13/2010. Successful defenses: 1.

12-Susumu Yokosuka & K-ness. 1st reign. Length: 5/13/2010-11/23/2010. Successful defenses: 4.

13-Naruki Doi & Gamma. 1st reign. Length: 11/23/2010-1/10/2011. Successful defenses: 1.

14-Masaaki Mochizuki & Don Fujii. 1st reign. Length: 1/10/2011-2/6/2011. Successful defenses: None.

15-Ryo Saito & Genki Horiguchi. 2nd reign. Length: 2/6/2011-6/19/2011. Successful defenses: 2.

16-Dragon Kid & Pac. 1st reign. Length: 6/29/2011-7/17/2011. Successful defenses: None.

17-CIMA & Ricochet. 1st reign. Length: 7/17/2011-Present (Current Champions). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: 9/11/2011 vs. Masato Yoshino & Pac. (Note: Match to be held in Dragon Gate USA and also will be for Open The United Gate Titles held by Yoshino & Pac)