Big Japan Death Match Heavyweight Championship History

The Big Japan Death Match Heavyweight Championship is the primary singles title in Big Japan. Not surprisingly, it is defended/contested for exclusively in Death Matches, hardcore matches where virtually anything goes and weapons-primarily flourescent lighttubes-are allowed (and encouraged).

To this date there have been 25 Big Japan Death Match Heavyweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-Great Pogo. 1st reign. Length: 8/9/1998-8/23/1998. Successful defenses: None.

2-Mitsuharu Matsunaga. 1st reign. Length: 8/23/1998-9/23/1998. Successful defenses: None.

3-Shadow WX. 1st reign. Length: 9/23/1998-1/10/1999. Successful defenses: 1.

4-Abdullah The Butcher. 1st reign. Length: 1/10/1999-2/28/1999. Successful defenses: None.

5-Shadow WX. 2nd reign. Length: 2/28/1999-5/30/1999. Successful defenses: 1.

6-Ryuji Yamakawa. 1st reign. Length: 5/30/1999-8/10/1999. Successful defenses: 1.

7-Shadow WX. 3rd reign. Length: 8/10/1999-12/4/1999. Successful defenses: 2.

8-Ryuji Yamakawa. 2nd reign. Length: 12/4/1999-1/2/2000. Successful defenses: None.

9-Tomoaki Honma. 1st reign. Length: 1/2/2000-7/2/2000. Successful defenses: 1.

10-Zandig. 1st reign. Length: 7/2/2000-11/23/2000. Successful defenses: 2.

11-Tomoaki Honma. 2nd reign. Length: 11/23/2000-3/2001. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title in March 2001 due to leaving Big Japan.

12-Zandig. 2nd reign. Length: 5/4/2001-8/19/2001. Successful defenses: 1.

13-Mitsuhiro Matsunaga. 1st reign. Length: 8/19/2001-12/2/2001. Successful defenses: None.

14-Zandig. 3rd reign. Length: 12/2/2001-??/2002. Successful defenses: None. Title vacated when Zandig left Big Japan in 2002 and took title to Combat Zone Wrestling.

15-Kintaro Kanemura. 1st reign. Length: 3/30/2003-8/24/2003. Successful defenses: 1.

16-Ryuji Ito. 1st reign. Length: 8/24/2003-12/21/2005. Successful defenses: 6.

17-Abdullah Kobayashi. 1st reign. Length: 12/21/2005-3/31/2006. Successful defenses: None.

18-Takashi Sasaki. 1st reign. Length: 3/31/2006-9/10/2006. Successful defenses: 1.

19-Ryuji Ito. 2nd reign. Length: 9/10/2006-9/14/2006. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 9/14/2006 due to injury.

20-Takashi Sasaki. 2nd reign. Length: 12/3/2006-8/26/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

21-Jaki Numazawa. 1st reign. Length: 8/26/2007-12/14/2007. Successful defenses: 1.

22-Ryuji Ito. 3rd reign. Length: 12/14/2007-5/4/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

23-Shadow WX. 4th reign. Length: 5/4/2008-12/19/2008. Successful defenses: 3.

24-Yuko Miyamoto. 1st reign. Length: 12/19/2008-5/4/2010. Successful defenses: 4.

25-Ryuji Ito. 4th reign. Length: 5/4/2010-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: 5. Next defense: 9/10/2011 vs. TBA. (Notes: 9/10 defense to take place in USA. Possible determination match between Abdullah Kobayashi & Kankuro Hoshino set for 9/20/2011 to determine next challenger if Kobayashi wins he will get the next title shot after 9/10)