FMW Independent Heavyweight Championship History

The FMW Independent Heavyweight Championship was a singles title in FMW. It was created in August 1996 when W*ING Kanemura won a tournament to become the first champion. The title was unified with the FMW Brass Knuckles Heavyweight Title in December 1996, thus the titles share the same lineage from that point until they were separated in August 1999.

There were 8 FMW Independent Heavyweight Champions.They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-W*ING Kanemura. 1st reign. Length: 8/1/1996-12/11/1996. Successful defenses: 1.

2-The Gladiator. 1st reign. Length: 12/11/1996-9/28/1997. Successful defenses: 1. Unifies title with FMW Independent Heavyweight Title on 12/11/1996.

3-Masato Tanaka. 1st reign. Length: 9/28/1997-1/6/1998. Successful defenses: 3.

4-Mr. Gannosuke. 1st reign. Length: 1/6/1998-4/30/1998. Successful defenses: None.

5-Hayabusa. 2nd reign. Length: 4/30/1998-11/20/1998. Successful defenses: 5.

6-Kodo Fuyuki. 1st reign. Length: 11/20/1998-5/18/1999. Successful defenses: 4. Vacated title on 5/18/1999 due to injury. See below.

7-Mr. Gannosuke. 2nd reign. Length: 5/18/1999-8/20/1999. Successful defenses: None. Awarded title on 5/18/1999 by then-FMW Commissioner Fuyuki after Fuyuki vacated title.

8-Masato Tanaka. 2nd reign. Length: 8/23/1999-8/25/1999. Successful defenses: 1. Title retired on 8/25/1999.