WEW Tag Team Championship History

The WEW Tag Team Championship was the primary tag team title in FMW. It was created in 1999 to replace the FMW Brass Knuckles Tag Team Titles. Although FMW folded back in 2002, the titles were quickly revived in the Japanese indies and remain active to this date. They are defended primarily in indy promotions but sometimes in larger promotions, most notably ZERO1.

To this date there have been 25 WEW Tag Team Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times) and length of reign. Successful defense data prior to August 2009 is not available.
1-Koji Nakagawa & Gedo. 1st reign. Length: 6/13/1999-8/23/1999.

2-Tetsuhiro Kuroda & Hisakatsu Oya. 1st reign. Length: 8/23/1999-12/1/1999.

3-H & Mr. Gannosuke. 1st reign. Length: 12/1/1999-2/25/2000.

4-Kodo Fuyuki & Kyoko Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 2/25/2000-4/1/2000. (Note: Inoue is a woman wrestler)

5-Koji Nakagawa & Gedo. 2nd reign. Length: 4/1/2000-5/28/2000. Vacated titles on 5/28/2000 due to splitting.

6-Jado & Gedo. 1st reign. Length: 7/14/2000-7/28/2000.

7-Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Masao Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 7/28/2000-10/22/2000.

8-Tamon Honda & Naomichi Marufuji. 1st reign. Length: 10/22/2000-12/23/2000.

9-Kodo Fuyuki & Tetsuhiro Kuroda. 1st reign. Length: 12/23/2000-1/7/2001.

10-Masato Tanaka & Gedo. 1st reign. Length: 1/7/2001-2/21/2001. Vacated titles on 2/21/2001 due to leaving FMW.

11-Onryo & GOEMON. 1st reign. Length: 5/5/2001-9/5/2001.

12-Mr. Gannosuke & Mammoth Sasaki. 1st reign. Length: 9/5/2001-10/9/2001.

13-Hayabusa & Tetsuhiro Kuroda. 1st reign. Length: 10/9/2001-11/5/2001. Vacated titles on 11/5/2001 due to a Hayabusa injury.

14-Mr. Gannosuke & Mammoth Sasaki. 2nd reign. Length: 11/23/2001. Vacated titles after winning.

15-Mr. Gannosuke & Tetsuhiro Kuroda. 1st reign. Length: 12/21/2001-1/6/2002. Vacated titles on 1/6/2002 due to a Gannosuke injury.

16-Kodo Fuyuki & The Sandman. 1st reign. Length: 2/4/2002-2/15/2002. Vacated titles on 2/15/2002 due to FMW closing due to bankruptcy. Titles abandoned. Titles revived in August 2002.

17-Takashi Sasaki & GENTARO. 1st reign. Length: 8/23/2002-3/11/2003.

18-Kintaro Kanemura & Tetsuhiro Kuroda. 1st reign. Length: 3/11/2003-3/2005. Vacated titles in March 2005.

19-Tetsuhiro Kuroda & Onryo. 1st reign. Length: 3/12/2005-??. Vacated titles on unknown date.

20-Takashi Sasaki & Badboy HIDO. 1st reign. Length: 8/6/2006-9/24/2006.

21-Jun Kasai & Tomoaki Honma. 1st reign. Length: 9/24/2006-2/20/2007. Vacated titles on 2/20/2007 due to splitting.

22-Jun Kasai & Jaki Numazawa. 1st reign. Length: 6/24/2007-9/23/2007.

23-GENTARO & The Winger. 1st reign. Length: 9/23/2007-4/17/2008.

24-NOSAWA Rongai & MAZADA. 1st reign. Length: 4/17/2008-8/2009. Vacated titles in August 2009.

25-Kohei Sato & KAMIKAZE. 1st reign. Length: 9/6/2009-Present (Current Champions). Successful defenses: 5. Next defense: TBA.