AJW Singles Championship History

The AJW Singles Championship was a primary singles title in All-Japan Women. It was created December 1980 and has been considered inactive/retired since the promotion folded in 2005.

There were 39 AJW Singles Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times) and length of reign.
1-Rimi Yokota (Jaguar Yokota). 1st reign. Length: 12/15/1980-3/7/1981. Vacated title on 3/7/1981.

2-Devil Masami. 1st reign. Length: 5/9/1981-4/7/1982. Vacated title on 4/7/1982.

3-Lioness Asuka. 1st reign. Length: 7/19/1982-1/8/1983. (Note: Some sites I’ve checked list start date of reign as 7/9/1982)

4-Kaoru Matsumoto. 1st reign. Length: 1/8/1983-6/1/1983.

5-Lioness Asuka. 2nd reign. Length: 6/1/1983-1/18/1984. Vacated title on 1/18/1984.

6-Itsumi Yamazaki. 1st reign. Length: 2/28/1984-2/25/1985. Vacated title on 2/25/1985.

7-Bull Nakano. 1st reign. Length: 7/25/1985-1/28/1988.

8-Yumi Ogura 1st reign. Length: 1/28/1988-7/10/1988.

9-Mika Komatsu. 1st reign. Length: 7/10/1988-2/1989. Vacated title in February 1989 due to retiring.

10-Erika Shishido (Aja Kong). 1st reign. Length: 3/19/1989-8/24/1989.

11-Reibun Amada. 1st reign. Length: 8/24/1989-10/1989. Vacated title in October 1989 due to retiring.

12-Manami Toyota. 1st reign. Length: 11/18/1989-9/1/1990. Vacated title on 9/1/1990.

13-Kyoko Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 10/2/1990-4/29/1991.

14-Takako Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 4/29/1991-4/29/1992.

15-Mariko Yoshida. 1st reign. Length: 4/29/1992-7/15/1992.

16-Sakie Hasegawa. 1st reign. Length: 7/15/1992-10/9/1992.

17-Tomoko Watanabe. 1st reign. Length: 10/9/1992-11/26/1992.

18-Kaoru Ito. 1st reign. Length: 11/26/1992-2/10/1993.

19-Debbie Malenko. 1st reign. Length: 2/10/1993-??/1993. Vacated title sometime between February 1993 and August 1993 due to injury.

20-Mima Shimoda. 1st reign. Length: 9/18/1993-4/9/1994. Vacated title on 4/9/1994 to focus on tag team matches with partner Etsuko Mita.

21-Kaoru Ito. 2nd reign. Length: 5/4/1994-6/30/1995.

22-Tomoko Watanabe. 2nd reign. Length: 6/30/1995-??/1996. Vacated title in 1996.

23-Kumiko Maekawa. 1st reign. Length: 5/4/1996-11/21/1996.

24-Rie Tamada. 1st reign. length: 11/21/1997-12/1997. Vacated title in December 1997.

25-Momoe Nakanishi. 1st reign. Length: 12/12/1997-1/24/1998.

26-Emi Motokawa. 1st reign. Length: 1/24/1998-4/12/1998.

27-Momoe Nakanishi. 2nd reign. Length: 4/12/1998-??. Vacated title due to title defense time limit.

28-Nanae Takahashi. 1st reign. Length: 3/1/2000-9/17/2000.

29-Miho Wakizawa. 1st reign. Length: 9/17/2000-5/26/2001.

30-Rumi Kazama. 1st reign. Length: 5/26/2001. Vacated title immediately after winning it.

31-Kayo Noumi. 1st reign. Length: 7/27/2001-9/26/2001.

32-Kayoko Haruyama. 1st reign. Length: 9/26/2001-1/4/2002.

33-Kayo Noumi. 2nd reign. Length: 1/4/2002-9/22/2002. Vacated title on 9/22/2002 to participate in All Pacific Championship Tournament.

34-Miyuki Fujii. 1st reign. Length: 10/8/2002-11/29/2002.

35-Kaori Yoneyama. 1st reign. Length: 11/29/2002-1/4/2003.

36-Mika Nishio. 1st reign. Length: 1/4/2003-??. Vacated title between 1/4/2003-6/18/2003 due to leaving AJW.

37-Sasori (Miyuki Fujii). 2nd reign. Length: 6/19/2003-9/15/2003.

38-Hikaru. 1st reign. Length: 9/15/2003-1/3/2004.

39-Saki Maemura. 1st reign. Length: 1/3/2004-4/2005. AJW folded in April 2005. Maemura is recognized as the final champion.