WWWA Singles Championship History

The WWWA Singles Championship, aka the “Red Belt”, was one of the top singles titles in All-Japan Women. It was created in April 1937 when Mildred Burke won the Women’s World Championship and, upon forming WWWA in the 1950s, recognized herself as the first champion. Burke would vacate the title upon retiring in 1956 but the belt would be revived in 1970. The title remained active until it was abandoned in March 2006.

There were 60 WWWA Singles Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times) and length of reign. Also, in some cases early on there are some cases where there are multiple dates listed for title changes, where there is uncertainty I will list all possible dates.
1-Mildred Burke. 1st reign. Length: 04/1937-??/1956. Wins Women’s World Title in 1937. Forms WWWA in 1950s and declared herself first champion. Vacated title in 1956 when retired.

2-Marie Vagnone. 1st reign. Length: 8/1970-10/??/1970. Wins tournament to revive inactive title, presented title by Burke. (Note: Unable to confirm date reign ended, but believed to be either 10/15/1970 or 10/25/1970)

3-Aiko Kyo. 1st reign. Length: 10/??/1970-3/9/1972. (Note: Unable to confirm date reign began, but believed to be either 10/15/1970 or 10/25/1970)

4-Jean Antoine. 1st reign. Length: 3/9/1972-3/15/1972.

5-Aiko Kyo. 2nd reign. Length: 3/15/1972-4/??/1972. (Note: Unable to confirm date reign ended, but believed to be either 4/16/1972 or 4/26/1972)

6-Sandy Starr. 1st reign. Length: 4/??/1972-5/24/1972. (Note: Unable to confirm date reign began, but believed to be either 4/16/1972 or 4/26/1972)

7-Aiko Kyo. 3rd reign. Length: 5/24/1972-7/1/1972.

8-Sarah Lee. 1st reign. Length: 7/1/1972-7/26/1972.

9-Miyoko Hoshino. 1st reign. Length: 7/26/1972-5/15/1973.

10-Sandy Parker. 1st reign. Length: 5/15/1973-7/10/1973.

11-Miyoko Hoshino. 2nd reign. Length: 7/10/1973-9/11/1973.

12-Jumbo Miyamoto. 1st reign. Length: 9/11/1973-3/2/1974.

13-Bambi Ball. 1st reign. Length: 3/2/1974. Vacated title after winning due to injury.

14-Jumbo Miyamoto. 2nd reign. Length: 3/6/1974-4/1/1974.

15-Jackie West. 1st reign. Length: 4/1/1974-4/24/1974.

16-Jumbo Miyamoto. 3rd reign. Length: 4/24/1974-3/19/1975.

17-Mach Fumiake. 1st reign. Length: 3/19/1975-4/2/1975.

18-Jumbo Miyamoto. 4th reign. Length: 4/2/1975-3/15/1976.

19-Mariko Akagi. 1st reign. Length: 3/15/1976-4/17/1976.

20-Jumbo Miyamoto. 5th reign. Length: 4/17/1976-6/8/1976.

21-Maki Ueda. 1st reign. Length: 6/8/1976-11/30/1976.

22-Mariko Akagi. 2nd reign. Length: 11/30/1976-7/29/1977.

23-Maki Ueda. 2nd reign. Length: 7/29/1977-11/1/1977.

24-Jackie Sato. 1st reign. Length: 11/1/1977-7/31/1979.

25-Monster Ripper. 1st reign. Length: 7/31/1979-9/13/1979.

26-Jackie Sato. 2nd reign. Length: 9/13/1979-3/15/1980.

27-Monster Ripper. 2nd reign. Length: 3/15/1980-8/8/1980. Title declared vacant after 8/8/1980 match with Jackie Sato.

28-Jackie Sato. 3rd reign. Length: 12/16/1980-2/25/1981.

29-Jaguar Yokota. 1st reign. Length: 2/25/1981-5/7/1983.

30-La Galactica. 1st reign. Length: 5/7/1983-6/1/1983.

31-Jaguar Yokota. 2nd reign. Length: 6/1/1983-12/1985. Vacated title in December 1985 due to retiring.

32-Devil Masami. 1st reign. Length: 12/12/1985-8/23/1986.

33-Yukari Omori. 1st reign. Length: 8/23/1986-10/20/1987.

34-Chigusa Nagayo. 1st reign. Length: 10/20/1987-8/25/1988.

35-Lioness Asuka. 1st reign. Length: 8/25/1988. Title declared vacant immediately when Asuka refuses to accept title because she won due to a Nagayo injury.

36-Lioness Asuka. 2nd reign. Length: 1/29/1989-7/19/1989. Vacated title on 7/19/1989 due to retiring.

37-Bull Nakano. 1st reign. Length: 1/4/1990-11/26/1992.

38-Aja Kong. 1st reign. Length: 11/26/1992-3/26/1995.

39-Manami Toyota. 1st reign. Length: 3/26/1995-6/27/1995.

40-Aja Kong. 2nd reign. Length: 6/27/1995-8/30/1995.

41-Dynamite Kansai. 1st reign. Length: 8/30/1995-12/4/1995.

42-Manami Toyota. 2nd reign. Length: 12/4/1995-12/8/1996.

43-Kyoko Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 12/8/1996-5/11/1997. Vacated title on 5/11/1997 after title defense against Kaoru Ito went to a 60 minute time limit draw.

44-Kyoko Inoue. 2nd reign. Length: 6/17/1997-8/20/1997.

45-Yumiko Hotta. 1st reign. Length: 8/20/1997-3/21/1998.

46-Shinobu Kandori. 1st reign. Length: 3/21/1998-3/10/1999.

47-Yumiko Hotta. 2nd reign. Length: 3/10/1999-7/11/1999.

48-Kyoko Inoue. 3rd reign. Length: 7/11/1999-10/22/1999.

49-Yumiko Hotta. 3rd reign. Length: 10/22/1999-1/4/2000.

50-Manami Toyota. 3rd reign. Length: 1/4/2000-9/17/2000.

51-Kaoru Ito. 1st reign. Length: 9/17/2000-2/24/2002.

52-Manami Toyota. 4th reign. Length: 2/24/2002-7/6/2002.

53-Kaoru Ito. 2nd reign. Length: 7/6/2002-10/20/2002.

54-Momoe Nakanishi. 1st reign. Length: 10/20/2002-5/11/2003.

55-Ayako Hamada. 1st reign. Length: 5/11/2003-1/4/2004.

56-Amazing Kong. 1st reign. Length: 1/4/2004-5/2/2004.

57-Ayako Hamada. 2nd reign. Length: 5/2/2004-12/12/2004.

58-Nanae Takahashi. 1st reign. Length: 12/12/2004-12/29/2004. Vacated title on 12/29/2004 due to injury.

59-Kumiko Maekawa. 1st reign. Length: 1/3/2005-3/26/2006. (Note: All-Japan Women folds in April 2005)

60-Nanae Takahashi. 2nd reign. Length: 3/26/2006. Takahashi immediately returns title belt to former AJW Chairman Takashi Mastunaga and title is abandoned. Takahashi is recognized as the final champion.