JWP Jr. Championship History

The JWP Jr. Championship is a secondary singles title in JWP. The title is only for wrestlers with less than 5 years’ experience (originally it was 3 years but the limits were changed in late 2009). Since June 2007 it has been unified with the POP (Princess Of Pro Wrestling) Title, which was a singles title in the now-defunct JDstar promotion. The titles officially were unified in October 2009, before that the titles were still separate even though they were defended together. The JWP title was created in June 1995 when Candy Okutsu won a 3-way match to become the first champion.

To this date there have been 21 JWP Jr. Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-Candy Okutsu. 1st reign. Length: 6/16/1995-12/6/1995. Successful defenses: 3.

2-Hiromi Yagi. 1st reign. Length: 12/6/1995-12/7/1995. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 12/7/1995 due to winning title from Candy Okutsu due to an Okutsu injury during match on 12/6/1995.

3-Hiromi Yagi. 2nd reign. Length: 5/6/1996-7/27/1996. Successful defenses: 4.

4-Candy Okutsu. 2nd reign. Length: 7/27/1996-8/4/1996. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 8/4/1996 due to no longer meeting age requirements for division.

5-Tomoko Kuzumi. 1st reign. Length: 8/10/1996-8/17/1997. Successful defenses: 10.

6-Tomoko Miyaguchi. 1st reign. Length: 8/17/1997-5/3/1998. Successful defenses: 5. Vacated title on 5/3/1998 due to no longer meeting age requirements for division.

7-Kayoko Haruyama. 1st reign. Length: 5/12/1999-9/3/2000. Successful defenses: 3.

8-Tsubasa Kuragaki. 1st reign. Length: 9/3/2000-10/27/2001. Successful defenses: 2. Vacated title on 10/27/2001.

9-Kobina Ichikawa. 1st reign. Length: 12/9/2001-6/16/2002. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 6/16/2002 due to retiring.

10-Kaori Yoneyama. 1st reign. Length: 7/6/2002-8/19/2004. Successful defenses: 4. Vacated title on 8/19/2004.

11-Haruka Matsuo. 1st reign. Length: 2/20/2005-5/15/2005. Successful defenses: None.

12-Erika Watanabe. 1st reign. Length: 5/15/2005-12/3/2005. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 12/3/2005.

13-Arisa Nakajima. 1st reign. Length: 12/24/2006-11/18/2007. Successful defenses: 4. Wins POP Title on 6/17/2007 to unify JWP Jr. Title and POP Title. All JWP Jr. Champions from this point forward have also been POP Champions and all JWP Jr. Title matches have also been for the POP Title.

14-Tyrannosaurus Okuda. 1st reign. Length: 11/18/2007-6/8/2008. Successful defenses: 3.

15-Arisa Nakajima. 2nd reign. Length: 6/8/2008-12/21/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

16-Hiroyo Matsumoto. 1st reign. Length: 12/21/2008-5/31/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

17-Misaki Ohata. 1st reign. Length: 5/31/2009-12/20/2009. Successful defenses: 2. JWP Jr. Title & POP Title unified during reign.

18-Ryo Mizunami. 1st reign. Length: 12/20/2009-9/3/2010. Successful defenses: 2.

19-Hiren. 1st reign. Length: 9/3/2010-3/6/2011. Successful defenses: 1. Wins title in Sendai Girls.

20-Kagetu. 1st reign. Length: 3/6/2011-7/17/2011. Successful defenses: 4.

21-Sawako Shimotsuke. 1st reign. Length: 7/17/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: 8/28/2011 vs. Nao Komatsu. Wins title in Osaka Women’s Pro. (Note: 8/28 defense to take place in WAVE)

POP (Princess Of Pro Wrestling) Championship History