JWP Openweight Championship History

The JWP Openweight Championship is the top singles title in JWP. It was created in December 1992 when Dynamite Kansai beat Cuty Suzuki in a tournament final.

To this date there have been 17 JWP Openweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-Dynamite Kansai. 1st reign. Length: 12/2/1992-9/18/1994. Successful defenses: 3.

2-Devil Masami. 1st reign. Length: 9/18/1994-10/20/1994. Successful defenses: 1. Vacated title on 10/20/1994 after first defense.

3-Dynamite Kansai. 2nd reign. Length: 10/15/1995-4/8/1997. Successful defenses: 2.

4-Akira Fukuoka. 1st reign. Length: 4/8/1997-2/28/1999. Successful defenses: 6.

5-Azumi Hyuga. 1st reign. Length: 2/28/1999-12/23/1999. Successful defenses: 3.

6-Ran Yu-Yu. 1st reign. Length: 12/23/1999-8/6/2000. Successful defenses: 1.

7-Command Bolshoi. 1st reign. Length: 8/6/2000-2/18/2001. Successful defenses: None.

8-Azumi Hyuga. 2nd reign. Length: 2/18/2001-11/3/2002. Successful defenses: 5. Vacated title on 11/3/2002.

9-Azumi Hyuga. 3rd reign. Length: 11/28/2004-9/18/2005. Successful defenses: 2.

10-Tsubasa Kuragaki. 1st reign. Length: 9/18/2005-5/28/2006. Successful defenses: 1.

11-Manami Toyota. 1st reign. Length: 5/28/2006-9/18/2006. Successful defenses: 3.

12-Azumi Hyuga. 4th reign. Length: 9/18/2006-4/29/2008. Successful defenses: 5.

13-Kayoko Haruyama. 1st reign. Length: 4/29/2008-4/18/2010. Successful defenses: 8.

14-Nanae Takahashi. 1st reign. Length: 4/18/2010-7/18/2010. Successful defenses: 2.

15-Kaori Yoneyama. 1st reign. Length: 7/18/2010-4/3/2011. Successful defenses: 10. (Notes: 5th defense ended in a Double KO. 8th defense ended in a time limit draw. Yoneyama retained title both times as a result)

16-Leon. 1st reign. Length: 4/3/2011-6/26/2011. Successful defenses: 1.

17-Hailey Hatred. 1st reign. Length: 6/26/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: 1. Next defense: 9/23/2011 vs. TBA. (Note: Determination 3-way between Kayoko Haruyama, Tsubasa Kuragaki & Command Bolshoi set for 9/11/2011 to determine next challenger)