High Speed Championship History

The High Speed Championship is a secondary singles title in joshi puroresu and formerly a singles title in NEO. It was created in May 2009 when Natsuki*Taiyo beat Io Shirai to become the first champion. Although NEO closed on 12/31/2010 and thus abandoned the title, it is recognized by the new Stardom promotion and still remains active but is now more of an independent title. The “NEO” has been dropped from the title’s name and it’s now known as just the High Speed Championship as of early 2011. The title apparently was unified with the JWP Openweight Championship in April 2011 but was contested for separate from the JWP Title in the brief time they were “unified”, which is no longer the case.
To this date there have been 5 High Speed Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-Natsuki*Taiyo. 1st reign. Length: 5/5/2009-9/20/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

2-Kaori Yoneyama. 1st reign. Length: 9/20/2009-3/14/2010. Successful defenses: 1.

3-Natsuki*Taiyo. 2nd reign. Length: 3/14/2010-11/27/2010. Successful defenses: 3. Wins title in JWP.

4-Leon. 1st reign. Length: 11/27/2010-7/24/2011. Successful defenses: 5. Wins title at a Passion Red event. NEO closes on 12/31/2010. Title renamed High Speed Championship in early 2011. Also wins JWP Openweight Championship on 4/3/2011.

5-Natsuki*Taiyo. 3rd reign. Length: 7/24/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: TBA. Wins title in Stardom.