NEO Singles Championship & NWA Women’s Pacific Championship History

The NEO Singles Championship was the top singles title in the NEO promotion. It also was unified with the NWA Women’s Pacific Championship so any wrestler who holds the NEO title is actually a dual champion and holds both titles simultaneously. They also are defended at the same time. The NEO Championship was created in August 2000 when Yoshiko Tamura beat Nicole Bass to become the first champion. The NEO title was unofficially retired on December 31, 2010 with the closing of the promotion but not officially retired until May 25, 2011. It’s not known what becomes of the NWA Title.

There were 23 NEO Singles Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses.
1-Yoshiko Tamura. 1st reign. Length: 8/24/2000-2/11/2001. Successful defenses: 3.

2-Mima Shimoda. 1st reign. Length: 2/11/2001-3/25/2001. Successful defenses: 1.

3-Kyoko Inoue. 1st reign. Length: 3/25/2001-6/15/2001. Successful defenses: 1.

4-Misae Genki. 1st reign. Length: 6/15/2001-9/1/2001. Successful defenses: 1.

5-Lioness Asuka. 1st reign. Length: 9/1/2001-12/7/2001. Successful defenses: 1.

6-Yoshiko Tamura. 2nd reign. Length: 12/7/2001-4/13/2002. Successful defenses: 3.

7-Etsuko Mita. 1st reign. Length: 4/13/2002-6/8/2002. Successful defenses: None.

8-Yoshiko Tamura. 3rd reign. Length: 6/8/2002-10/14/2002. Successful defenses: 2. Vacated title on 10/14/2002.

9-Yoshiko Tamura. 4th reign. Length: 11/10/2002-2/2/2003. Successful defenses: None.

10-Kyoko Inoue. 2nd reign. Length: 2/2/2003-3/6/2003. Successful defenses: None.

11-Azumi Hyuga. 1st reign. Length: 3/6/2003-5/5/2003. Successful defenses: 3.

12-Yoshiko Tamura. 5th reign. Length: 5/5/2003-3/14/2004. Successful defenses: 3.

13-Momoe Nakanishi. 1st reign. Length: 3/14/2004-8/14/2004. Successful defenses: 2.

14-Misae Genki. 2nd reign. Length: 8/14/2004-2/20/2005. Successful defenses: 3.

15-Tsubasa Kuragaki. 1st reign. Length: 2/20/2005-7/3/2005. Successful defenses: 2.

16-Misae Genki. 3rd reign. Length: 7/3/2005-12/11/2005. Successful defenses: 3.

17-Yoshiko Tamura. 6th reign. Length: 12/11/2005-9/17/2007. Successful defenses: 15.

18-Haruka Matsuo. 1st reign. Length: 9/17/2007-5/5/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

19-Kyoko Inoue. 3rd reign. Length: 5/5/2008-10/4/2008. Successful defenses: None.

20-Nanae Takahashi. 1st reign. Length: 10/4/2008-5/3/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

21-Emi Sakura. 1st reign. Length: 5/3/2009-5/5/2009. Successful defenses: None.

22-Yoshiko Tamura. 7th reign. Length: 5/5/2009-12/31/2010. Successful defenses: 12. (Note: 11th defense went to a time limit draw. Tamura retained titles as a result)

23-Ayumi Kurihara. 1st reign. Length: 12/31/2010-5/25/2011. Successful defenses: None. NEO closes on 12/31/2010. Kurihara is recognized as the final champion but asks to keep titles and does, but returns titles to NEO President Tetsuya Koda on 5/25/2011. Titles retired.