UWA Middleweight Championship History

The UWA World Middleweight Championship is a championship originally created and sanctioned by the Mexican lucha libre promotion Universal Wrestling Association (UWA) from 1976 until the UWA closed in 1995. Upon the closing of the UWA, the title migrated to Japan’s Michinoku Pro Wrestling and Toryumon Japan promotions. Currently the title resides in Taka Michinoku’s promotion, Kaientai Dojo.

To this date there have been 52 UWA Middleweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses (Successful defense date is only available from 2003 on).
1-Rene Guajardo. 1st reign. Length: 11/26/1975-5/2/1976.

2-Gran Hamada. 1st reign. Length: 5/2/1976-10/31/1976.

3-Rene Guajardo. 2nd reign. Length: 10/31/1976-10/2/1977.

4-Anibal. 1st reign. Length: 10/2/1977-2/11/1979.

5-Jungla Negra. 1st reign. Length: 2/11/1979-1/11/1981.

6-Centurion Negro. 1st reign. Length: 1/11/1981-2/14/1982.

7-Gran Hamada. 2nd reign. Length: 2/14/1982-6/13/1982.

8-Centurion Negro. 2nd reign. Length: 6/13/1982-1/9/1983.

9-Luis Arizona. 1st reign. Length: 1/9/1983-5/22/1983.

10-Gran Hamada. 3rd reign. Length: 5/22/1983-7/6/1984.

11-Super Astro. 1st reign. Length: 7/6/1984-10/14/1984.

12-Satanico. 1st reign. Length: 10/14/1984-7/9/1985.

13-Cachorro Mendoza. 1st reign. Length: 7/5/1985-11/20/1985.

14-El Solar. 1st reign. Length: 11/20/1985-4/1986. Vacated title in April 1986.

15-Valente Fernandez. 1st reign. Length: 6/29/1986-9/4/1989.

16-Cuchillo. 1st reign. Length: 9/4/1989-4/6/1990.

17-Yoshihiro Asai (Ultimo Dragon). 1st reign. Length: 4/6/1990-5/21/1990.

18-Cuchillo. 2nd reign. Length: 5/21/1990-6/4/1990.

19-Yoshihiro Asai (Ultimo Dragon). 2nd reign. Length: 6/4/1990-12/28/1990.

20-Super Astro. 2nd reign. Length: 12/28/1990-1/29/1991.

21-Negro Casas. 1st reign. Length: 1/29/1991-3/26/1993.

22-Ultimo Dragon. 3rd reign. Length: 3/26/1993-5/20/1993.

23-El Samurai. 1st reign. Length: 5/20/1993-5/24/1993.

24-Ultimo Dragon. 4th reign. Length: 5/24/1993-1/5/1994.

25-Koji Ishinriki. 1st reign. Length: 1/5/1994-5/25/1994.

26-Ultimo Dragon. 5th reign. Length: 5/24/1994-11/8/1994. Vacated title on 11/8/1994 after winning NWA World Middleweight Championship.

27-El Texano. 1st reign. Length: 2/12/1995-??/1996.

28-Hector Garza. 1st reign. Length: ??/1996-6/11/1996.

29-Masayoshi Motegi. 1st reign. Length: 6/11/1996. Vacated title immediately because he won title when Garza was accidentally KO’d during match.

30-Tiger Mask 4. 1st reign. Length: 9/23/1996-2/25/1997. Vacated title on 2/25/1997 due to injury.

31-Shiochi Funaki. 1st reign. Length: 3/19/1997-5/24/1997.

32-Minoru Tanaka. 1st reign. Length: 5/24/1997-4/19/1998. Vacated title on 4/19/1998 after successful defense against Tiger Mask.

33-The Willow (Jeff Hardy). 1st reign. Length: 6/14/1998-??/1998. Vacated title in 1998 (exact date unknown).

34-Silver Wolf. 1st reign. Length: 5/25/2002-9/2002. Vacated title in September 2002.

35-Hi69. 1st reign. Length: 10/27/2002-5/24/2003.

36-Yasu Urano. 1st reign. Length: 5/24/2003-10/25/2003. Successful defenses: 6.

37-X #3 (SUPER X). 1st reign. Length: 10/25/2003-4/25/2004. Successful defenses: 3.

38-Sambo Oishi (Makoto Oishi). 1st reign. Length: 4/25/2004-10/30/2004. Successful defenses: 6.

39-Onryo. 1st reign. Length: 10/30/2004-2/12/2005. Successful defenses: 1.

40-GENTARO. 1st reign. Length: 2/12/2005-2/19/2005. Successful defenses: None.

41-Boso Boy Raito. 1st reign. Length: 2/19/2005-4/5/2006. Successful defenses: 3.

42-PSYCHO. 1st reign. Length: 4/5/2006-11/5/2006. Successful defenses: 5.

43-Shiori Asahi. 1st reign. Length: 11/5/2006-9/4/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

44-Boso Boy Raito. 2nd reign. Length: 9/4/2007-6/12/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

45-Makoto Oishi. 2nd reign. Length: 6/12/2008-8/9/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

46-Men’s Teioh. 1st reign. Length: 8/9/2008-11/3/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

47-Makoto Oishi. 3rd reign. Length: 11/3/2008-3/15/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

48-Quiet Storm. 1st reign. Length: 3/15/2009-8/9/2009. Successful defenses: 3.

49-PSYCHO. 2nd reign. Length: 8/9/2009-11/14/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

50-Shinobu. 1st reign. Length: 11/14/2009-1/11/2010. Successful defenses: None.

51-Kaji Tomato. 1st reign. Length: 1/11/2010-11/10/2010. Successful defenses: 6.

52-Yasu Urano. 2nd reign. Length: 11/10/2010-7/31/2011. Successful defenses: 8.

53-Kaji Tomato. 2nd reign. Length: 7/31/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: TBA.