IWGP U-30 Openweight Championship History

The IWGP U-30 Openweight Title was a secondary title in New Japan contested only among wrestlers under 30 years old. It was created in April 2003 when Hiroshi Tanahashi won a tournament to become the first champion. The title has been inactive since June 2006 and probably has been retired.

There were 3 IWGP U-30 Openweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from New Japan’s title history pages on their official website, http://www.njpw.co.jp.
1-Hiroshi Tanahashi. 1st reign. Length: 4/23/2003-1/4/2005. Successful defenses: 11.

2-Shinsuke Nakamura. 1st reign. Length: 1/4/2005-5/1/2005. Successful defenses: None. Stripped of title on 5/1/2005 due to not defending it.

3-Hiroshi Tanahashi. 2nd reign. Length: 6/18/2005-6/7/2006. Successful defenses: 2. Vacated title on 6/7/2006 due to moving to New Japan’s Heavyweight division. Title declared inactive/retired by New Japan.