GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship History

The Global Honored Crown (GHC) Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship is a tag team title in NOAH exclusively for wrestlers under 100 kg/220 lbs. It was created on July 16, 2003 when Naomichi Marufuji & KENTA defeated Jushin Liger & Takehiro Murahama in a tournament final. The title has been held and defended by teams outside NOAH, including New Japan, Dragon Gate and Ring Of Honor, and also defended in these promotions. All GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Title matches and contract signings were overseen and introduced by NOAH title commissioner Joe Higuchi until his death in October 2010.

To this date there have been 14 GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champions.They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from NOAH’s official English-language website, and their official Japanese website,
1-Naomichi Marufuji & KENTA. 1st reign. Length: 7/16/2003-6/5/2005. Successful defenses: 9.

2-Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Takashi Sugiura. 1st reign. Length: 6/5/2005-3/5/2006. Successful defenses: 1.

3-Ikuto Hidaka & Minoru Fujita. 1st reign. Length: 3/5/2006-8/13/2006. Successful defenses: 2.

4-Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Takashi Sugiura. 2nd reign. Length: 8/13/2006-1/7/2007. Successful defenses: 1.

5-Jay & Mark Briscoe. 1st reign. Length: 1/7/2007-1/21/2007. Successful defenses: None.

6-Kotaro Suzuki & Ricky Marvin. 1st reign. Length: 1/21/2007-11/24/2007. Successful defenses: 5.

7-Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino. 1st reign. Length: 11/24/2007-1/15/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

8-Shingo Takagi & BxB Hulk. 1st reign. Length: 1/15/2008-3/20/2008. Successful defenses: None.

9-KENTA & Taiji Ishimori. 1st reign. Length: 3/20/2008-7/13/2008. Successful defenses: 2.

10-Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Kotaro Suzuki. 1st reign. Length: 7/13/2008-1/17/2010. Successful defenses: 6. Vacated titles on 1/17/2010 due to a Suzuki injury.

11-Taiji Ishimori & Ricky Marvin. 1st reign. Length: 2/18/2010-8/22/2010. Successful defenses: 2.

12-Koji Kanemoto & Tiger Mask 4. 1st reign. Length: 8/22/2010-12/24/2010. Successful defenses: 2.

13-Naomichi Marufuji & Atsushi Aoki. 1st reign. Length: 12/24/2010-4/29/2011. Successful defenses: 2. Vacated titles on 4/29/2011 due to a Marufuji injury.

14-Yoshinobu Kanemaru & KENTA. 1st reign. Length: 5/25/2011-Present (Current Champions). Successful defenses: 1. Next defense: TBA.