NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Championship History

The NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Championship is the top tag team title in ZERO1. It was created in July 2001 when Shinjiro Otani & Yuki Ishikawa became the first champions. The title has been vacated and revived a few times due to ZERO1 and various other promotions they worked with terminating their relationships over the years. The NWA stopped recognizing the title in 2004 but ZERO1 kept the NWA part of the name intact. The NWA began recognizing the title again in early 2011 due to ZERO1 being reinstated as an NWA member.

To this date there have been 25 NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from ZERO1’s English-language website, zerooneusa.com.
1-Shinjiro Otani & Yuki Ishikawa. 1st reign. Length: 7/21/2001-10/2001. Successful defenses: None. Vacated titles in October 2001 due to BattlARTS & ZERO1 terminating cooperation/partnership.

2-Shijiro Otani & Masato Tanaka. 1st reign. Length: 1/6/2002-10/20/2002. Successful defenses: 5.

3-Nathan Jones & John Heidenreich. 1st reign. Length: 10/20/2002-10/26/2002. Successful defenses: 1.

4-Shinya Hashimoto & Naoya Ogawa. 1st reign. Length: 10/26/2002-12/15/2002. Successful defenses: 1.

5-Matt Ghaffari & Tom Howard. 1st reign. Length: 12/15/2002-4/29/2003. Successful defenses: 2.

6-Shinya Hashimoto & Naoya Ogawa. 2nd reign. Length: 4/29/2003-5/2/2003. Successful defenses: None. Stripped of titles by NWA on 5/2/2003 due to Ogawa throwing Ghaffari over top rope during match (Yes, younger fans, there were rules against this at times in some promotions back in the 90s).

7-Steve Corino & C.W. Anderson. 1st reign. Length: 5/2/2003-8/31/2003. Successful defenses: 3.

8-Shinjiro Otani & Masato Tanaka. 2nd reign. Length: 8/31/2003-2/19/2004. Successful defenses: 2.

9-Takao Omori & Shiro Koshinaka. 1st reign. Length: 2/19/2004-6/17/2004. Successful defenses: 5.

10-Shinya Hashimoto & Yoshiaki Fujiwara. 1st reign. Length: 6/17/2004-8/31/2004. Successful defenses: 2.

11-Shinjiro Otani & Takao Omori. 1st reign. Length: 8/31/2004-10/3/2004. Successful defenses: 1.

12-Masato Tanaka & Wataru Sakata. 1st reign. Length: 10/3/2004-10/??/2004. Successful defenses: None. Vacated titles in October 2004 due to ZERO1 leaving NWA and champions no longer defending title as a result. ZERO1 revives titles in April 2005 without NWA affiliation.

13-Kohei Sato & Ryouji Sai. 1st reign. Length: 4/14/2005-10/10/2005. Successful defenses: 3.

14-Ikuto Hidaka & Minoru Fujita. 1st reign. Length: 10/10/2005-2/25/2006. Successful defenses: 1.

15-Steve Corino & Y2P-160kg (Yutaka Yoshie). 1st reign. Length: 2/25/2006-6/20/2006. Successful defenses: 1.

16-Kohei Sato & Ryouji Sai. 2nd reign. Length: 6/20/2006-6/24/2006. Successful defenses: None.

17-Manabu Nakanishi & Takao Omori. 1st reign. Length: 6/24/2006-3/8/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

18-Yoshihiro Takayama & Kohei Sato. 1st reign. Length: 3/8/2007-10/26/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

19-Minoru Fujita & Takaya Sugawara. 1st reign. Length: 10/26/2007-11/28/2008. Successful defenses: 4.

20-Mr. Wrestling 3 (Steve Corino) & Charles Evans. 1st reign. Length: 11/28/2008-3/3/2009. Successful defenses: None. Stripped of titles on 3/3/2009 due to Evans being considered unworthy of being champion because of making bookings with other promotions without permission of ZERO1.

21-Ryouji Sai & Osamu Namiguchi. 1st reign. Length: 3/15/2009-7/16/2009. Successful defenses: 1.

22-Kohei Sato & KAMIKAZE. 1st reign. Length: 7/16/2009-10/24/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

23-Ikuto Hidaka & Munenori Sawa. 1st reign. Length: 10/24/2009-1/27/2010. Successful defenses: None.

24-Shinjiro Otani & Akebono. 1st reign. Length: 1/27/2010-12/21/2010. Successful defenses: 4. Vacated titles on 12/21/2010 after losing match in annual Furinkazan tournament.

25-Kohei Sato & KAMIKAZE. 1st reign. Length: 12/21/2010-Present (Current Champions). Successful defenses: 2. Next defense: 8/27/2011 vs. Shinjiro Otani & Daichi Hashimoto.