Shinjiro Otani

profile_shinjirootaniShinjiro Otani is the current president of ZERO1 and an 18-year veteran of puroresu. He has competed for the promotion since it’s inception following stints in New Japan and time in the US with WCW.
After debuting in 1992, Otani started getting pushes in 1996 when, while competing in WCW, he won the WCW World Cruiserweight Championship by defeating Wild Pegasus (Chris Benoit). This made him a legit Jr. Heavyweight contender, eventually leading to winning the J-Crown and becoming half of the first IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Champions. His push stalled in 2000 when New Japan booker Riki Choshu began devaluing Jr. Heavyweights in order to push Kensuke Sasaki. Otani was sent abroad to bulk up and returned as a Heavyweight, but failed to win the IWGP Heavyweight Championship from Sasaki.
Following the loss, Otani left the promotion with Shinya Hashimoto to form ZERO1. After Hashimoto’s death in 2004 Otani became one of the promotion’s top stars during the promotion’s rebranding as Zero-One MAX. He also formed a tag team with Masato Tanaka during this time, a pairing that has been disbanded and re-formed numerous times since. Otani won 2 of his 4 NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Championships with Tanaka. At the end of 2007 Otani was named president of the promotion after the previous president was appointed director of another organization. He has also won ZERO1’s annual Fire Festival tournament 4 times and held the ZERO1 World Heavyweight Championship for a month in early 2009. He remains active in ZERO1 and other promotions, including still making the occasional appearance in New Japan. He also has taken a major role in planning ZERO1’s 10th anniversary celebration in early 2010 and in preparing Shinya Hashimoto’s son Daichi for his 2011 debut.

Stats & Info:
Age: 37
Height: 5’11”
Weight: 236 pounds/107 kg
Experience: 18 years
Finishing move: Spiral Bomb
Current affiliation: ZERO1

Titles won:
1-time ZERO1 World Heavyweight Champion
5-time NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Champion
1-time IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion
2-time IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion
1-time NWA Jr. Heavyweight Champion
2-time NWA Welterweight Champion
1-time PWF Tag Team Champion
2-time UWA Jr. Heavyweight Champion
1-time UWA Welterweight Champion
1-time WAR International Jr. Heavyweight Champion
1-time WAR International Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Champion
1-time WCW Cruiserweight Champion
1-time WWA Jr. Light Heavyweight Champion
1-time WWF Light Heavyweight Champion
1-time J-Crown Champion

Tournaments won:
1994 Super Grade Jr. Tag League
1994 One Night Captain’s Fall Tournament
1998 IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Title League
2001, 2002, 2005, 2010 Fire Festival
2006 Hustle King Memorial Tag Tournament
2008 Yuke’s Cup PREMIUM One Night Tag Tournament
2009 Furinkazan

Other accolades:
Ranked #42 In PWI 100 Best Tag Teams Of The “PWI Years” In 2003 (with Tatsuhito Takaiwa)
1998 Wrestling Observer Newsletter Tag Team Of The Year Award (with Takaiwa)
1999 Wrestling Observer Newsletter Best Technical Wrestler Award

Official website (Japanese):