ZERO1 International Junior Heavyweight Championship History

The ZERO1 International Junior Heavyweight Championship is a title in ZERO1 sanctioned by the Wrestling Superstars Live promotion (formerly the AWA), contested exclusively among junior heavyweight (<100 kg (220 lb)) wrestlers. It was originally created on June 29, 2002 as the NWA/UPW/Zero-One International Junior Heavyweight Championship, symbolizing Zero-One’s relationship with the NWA and UPW; Leonardo Spanky defeated Smelly to become the first champion.When Zero-One left the NWA on October 31, 2004, the title was renamed to incorporate Steve Corino’s Pro Wrestling World-1; the name was further added to when the newly-renamed Zero1-Max joined the AWA on February 28, 2005. On August 26, 2006, when Minoru Fujita won the annual Tenka-Ichi Junior Tournament, it was again renamed the AWA World Junior Heavyweight Championship. When Zero1-Max left the AWA on December 15, 2007, it was renamed again to the ZERO1-Max International Junior Heavyweight Championship. Finally, when the company changed its name to Pro Wrestling ZERO1 in 2008, the championship followed.

To this date there have been, including all prior incarnations/versions of the title, 18 ZERO1 International Junior Heavyweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses from 8/26/2006 on (that’s as far back as the most reliable information I have goes). All records are based on the official records from ZERO1’s official English-language website,
1-Leonardo Spanky (Brian Kendrick). 1st reign. Length: 6/29/2002-9/16/2002.

2-Low Ki. 1st reign. Length: 9/16/2003-8/31/2003.

3-Wataru Sakata. 1st reign. Length: 8/31/2003-4/12/2004. Vacated title on 4/12/2004 to participate in a tournament.

4-Tatsuhito Takaiwa. 1st reign. Length: 5/16/2004-12/18/2004.

5-Super Crazy. 1st reign. Length: 12/18/2004-4/14/2005.

6-Ikuto Hidaka. 1st reign. Length: 4/14/2005-2/26/2006.

7-Takuya Sugawara. 1st reign. Length: 2/26/2006-7/27/2006.

8-Tatsuhito Takaiwa. 2nd reign. Length: 7/27/2006. Vacated title immediately so it could be decided in a tournament final.

9-Minoru Fujita. 1st reign. Length: 8/26/2006-1/19/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

10-Ikuto Hidaka. 2nd reign. Length: 1/19/2007-2/18/2007. Successful defenses: None.

11-Tatsuhito Takaiwa. 3rd reign. Length: 2/18/2007-5/6/2007. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 5/6/2007 due to injury.

12-Dick Togo. 1st reign. Length: 6/20/2007-10/26/2007. Successful defenses: 1.

13-Ikuto Hidaka. 3rd reign. Length: 10/26/2007-1/23/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

14-Masaaki Mochizuki. 1st reign. Length: 1/23/2008-6/26/2008. Successful defenses: 3.

15-Ikuto Hidaka. 4th reign. Length: 6/26/2008-3/15/2009. Successful defenses: 5.

16-Sonjay Dutt. 1st reign. Length: 3/15/2009-11/29/2009. Successful defenses: None.

17-Ikuto Hidaka. 5th reign. Length: 11/29/2009-5/23/2011. Successful defenses: 7.

18-Takuya Sugawara. 2nd reign. Length: 5/23/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: 2. Next defense: TBA.