ZERO1/AWA World Heavyweight Championship History

The ZERO1 World Heavyweight Championship is one of ZERO1’s top two singles titles, along with the NWA United National Heavyweight Championship. It was created on December 15, 2007, replacing the AWA World Heavyweight Championship when Zero-One MAX ended their relationship with the AWA Superstars of Wrestling. Masato Tanaka, the AWA champion at the time, was stripped of the title and recognized as the first Zero-One MAX champion. In 2008 the title became the ZERO1 World Heavyweight Title when the promotion shortened it’s name to ZERO1. In June 2011 the title began being referred to again as the AWA World Heavyweight Championship after ZERO1 announced that “AWA General Manager” F. Sharp has requested them to refer the title as such.

To this date there have been 11 ZERO1/AWA World Heavyweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from ZERO1’s English-language website,
1-Masato Tanaka. 1st reign. Length: 12/15/2007-10/13/2008. Successful defenses: 7.

2-Yuji Nagata. 1st reign. Length: 10/13/2008-2/27/2009. Successful defenses: 3.

3-Shinjiro Otani. 1st reign. Length: 2/27/2009-3/29/2009. Successful defenses: 2.

4-Ryouji Sai. 1st reign. Length: 3/29/2009-7/1/2009. Successful defenses: 1.

5-Masato Tanaka. 2nd reign. Length: 7/1/2009-10/24/2009. Successful defenses: None.

6-Toshiaki Kawada. 1st reign. Length: 10/24/2009-4/11/2010. Successful defenses: 3.

7-Kohei Sato. 1st reign. Length: 4/11/2010-7/11/2010. Successful defenses: 2.

8-Chris Raaber. 1st reign. Length: 7/11/2010-9/9/2010. Successful defenses: None.

9-Daisuke Sekimoto. 1st reign. Length: 9/9/2010-3/6/2011. Successful defenses: 4.

10-Ryouji Sai. 2nd reign. Length: 3/6/2011-7/3/2011. Successful defenses: 2.

11-The Sheik (Joseph Cabibbo). 1st reign. Length: 7/3/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: TBA.