WAR International Junior Heavyweight Championship History

The WAR International Junior Heavyweight Championship is a Jr. Heavyweight title originally from the Wrestle Association “R” (WAR) promotion. It was created in March 1995 when Gedo won a tournament to become the first champion. The title was retired in January 2007 but revived by Genichiro Tenryu in April 2010. While it was revived by Tenryu for use in his new Tenryu Project promotion, the title has also been defended in other independent promotions, most notably Freedoms.

To this date there have been 18 WAR International Junior Heavyweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times) and length of reign. Successful defense data is not available.
1-Gedo. 1st reign. Length: 3/26/1995-6/4/1995.

2-Lion Heart (Chris Jericho). 1st reign. Length: 6/4/1995-7/28/1995.

3-Ultimo Dragon. 1st reign. Length: 7/28/1995-8/29/1995.

4-Gedo. 2nd reign. Length: 8/29/1995-10/9/1995.

5-Ultimo Dragon. 2nd reign. Length: 10/9/1995-8/5/1996.

6-The Great Sasuke. 1st reign. Length: 8/5/1996-10/11/1996.

7-Ultimo Dragon. 3rd reign. Length: 10/11/1996-1/4/1997. Also wins J-Crown Championship (8 Jr. Heavyweight titles unified as one).

8-Jushin Liger. 1st reign. Length: 1/4/1997-6/6/1997. Also wins J-Crown Championship.

9-Yuuji Yasuraoka. 1st reign. Length: 6/6/1997-1/15/1999.

10-Masao Orihara. 1st reign. Length: 1/15/1999-3/1/1999.

11-Masaaki Mochizuki. 1st reign. Length: 3/1/1999-7/27/2006.

12-Pentagon Black. 1st reign. Length: 7/27/2006-11/23/2006. WAR closes on 7/27/2006.

13-Masaaki Mochizuki. 2nd reign. Length: 11/23/2006. Vacated title immediately.

14-Masaaki Mochizuki. 3rd reign. Length: 1/26/2007. Wins match to determine final champion. Title retired immediately. Title revived by Genichiro Tenryu in April 2010.

15-Masaaki Mochizuki. 4th reign. Length: 4/19/2010-6/9/2010.

16-Tiger Shark. 1st reign. Length: 6/9/2010-9/29/2010.

17-HIROKI. 1st reign. Length: 9/29/2010-12/14/2010. Successful defenses: 1.

18-Ryuji Hijikata. 1st reign. Length: 12/14/2010-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: TBA.