NWA United National Heavyweight Championship History

The NWA United National Heavyweight Championship is one of ZERO1’s top two singles titles, along with the ZERO1 World Heavyweight Championship. The UN title was created on January 31, 2004, when Masato Tanaka defeated Steve Corino in an Indian strap match, wrestling as Masa Tanaka. It was founded at a time when ZERO1 was a member of the National Wrestling Alliance; since the two organizations’ parting in late 2004, the NWA does not recognize or sanction it, though it retains the NWA initials. The title had been inactive since sometime in 2008 or 2009 but was re-activated in 2011. Additionally, the title will once again be recognized by the NWA as of January 2011 thanks to the NWA reinstating ZERO1 as a member.

To this date there have been 11 NWA UN Heavyweight Champions. They are listed below in order of reign along with which reign it was (some won it multiple times), length of reign and number of successful defenses. All records are based on the official records from ZERO1’s English-language website, zerooneusa.com.
1-Masato Tanaka. 1st reign. Length: 1/31/2004-10/8/2004. Successful defenses: 5.

2-Takao Omori. 1st reign. Length: 10/8/2004-1/23/2005. Successful defenses: 1. Vacated title on 1/23/2005 due to winning the AWA World Heavyweight Championship.

3-C.W. Anderson. 1st reign. Length: 3/27/2005-2/3/2006. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 2/3/2006 due to injury.

4-Kohei Sato. 1st reign. Length: 2/26/2006-11/11/2006. Successful defenses: 5.

5-Ryouji Sai. 1st reign. Length: 11/11/2006-3/8/2007. Successful defenses: 2.

6-Daisuke Sekimoto. 1st reign. Length: 3/8/2007-11/13/2007. Succesful defenses: 3.

7-Yoshihito Sasaki. 1st reign. Length: 11/13/2007-2/11/2008. Successful defenses: 1.

8-Sandy Beach. 1st reign. Length: 2/11/2008-3/29/2008. Successful defenses: None.

9-Yoshihito Sasaki. 2nd reign. Length: 3/29/2008-4/25/2008. Successful defenses: None. Vacated title on 4/25/2008 due to injury.

10-Kengo Mashimo. 1st reign. Length: 5/4/2008-6/10/2010. Successful defenses: 2. Vacated title on 6/10/2010. Title inactive as of unknown date. Title revived by NWA Pro Australia in January 2011. NWA begins recognizing title and sanctioning title matches in January 2011 after ZERO1 is reinstated as a member of NWA.

11-Hartley Jackson. 1st reign. Length: 2/19/2011-Present (Current Champion). Successful defenses: None. Next defense: TBA. Wins tournament in NWA Pro Australia to win re-activated title.